Comparison
Superbilled vs. the alternatives
Most therapist billing tools either bundle superbills inside a full-priced EHR you don't need, or charge a percentage of every session you bill. We don't do either.
| Feature | ← You're hereSuperbilled | SimplePractice | TherapyNotes | Mentaya | Thrizer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly price | $0–$29 | $49–$99/mo, 30-day free trial | $69/mo solo; $79/mo + $50/mo per additional clinician (group) | Free to join, plus a 5% per-claim fee (as of 2026) | $0/mo Basic plan, plus per-transaction fees (as of 2026) |
| Superbill generation | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Email to client | ✓ Pro+ | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site | ✓ | ✓ |
| PDF templates | 3 styles | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site |
| Per-session fees | None | None | None | 5% per claim | 5% per session |
| EHR / full practice mgmt | Superbill/GFE focused | Full EHR & Practice Management Platform | EHR & Billing Platform | Out-of-Network Claims Filing Service | Out-of-Network Claims Filing Service |
| AI code suggestions | ✓ Pro+ | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site |
| White-label PDF | ✓ Pro+ | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site |
| Signature on PDF | ✓ Practice | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site |
| CSV export | ✓ Practice | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site |
| Setup time | < 5 min | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site | Not stated publicly — check their site |
| HIPAA compliant | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
Superbilled vs SimplePractice
SimplePractice is a full EHR — scheduling, telehealth, notes, billing, and a client portal. If you need all of that, it's worth it. If you only need superbills, you're paying $49–$99/mo, 30-day free trial for a fraction of the product.
Read the full comparison →Superbilled vs SimplePractice
Superbilled vs TherapyNotes
TherapyNotes is primarily a notes and scheduling platform. Superbill generation works but lacks customization. At $69/mo solo; $79/mo + $50/mo per additional clinician (group) for a solo practice, you're paying more than double Superbilled Practice for far less superbill-specific functionality.
Read the full comparison →Superbilled vs TherapyNotes
Superbilled vs Mentaya
Mentaya charges a percentage of each insurance claim submitted. That sounds low — until you do the math.
The math at 20 clients/week:
20 clients × $200/session × 5% = $860/mo in fees
Superbilled Practice: $29/mo flat. You keep the other $831.
Superbilled vs Mentaya
Superbilled vs Thrizer
Thrizer charges therapists a percentage per session. At a busy practice, that percentage compounds fast.
The math at 20 clients/week:
20 clients × $200/session × 5% = $860/mo in fees
Superbilled Practice: $29/mo flat. You keep the other $831.
Superbilled vs Thrizer
Superbilled vs CoralEHR
CoralEHR is a full clinical EHR that includes a Good Faith Estimate template. Superbilled is a purpose-built superbill and GFE generator with none of the EHR overhead.
Read the full comparison →Superbilled vs CoralEHR
Superbilled vs Carepatron
Carepatron is a general practice management platform used across many disciplines, not therapy-specific. Superbilled is built specifically for the out-of-network therapy superbill and GFE workflow.
Read the full comparison →Superbilled vs Carepatron